

To: Chair and Members of the Welsh

Language Steering Committee

Date: 13 March 2019

Direct Dial: 01824 712589

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the WELSH LANGUAGE STEERING COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 19 MARCH 2019 in CONFERENCE ROOM 1A, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business to be conducted at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4 MINUTES (Pages 5 - 10)

To receive the minutes of the Welsh Language Steering Committee held on 9 October 2018 (copy enclosed).

5 WELSH LANGUAGE SKILLS SELF ASSESSMENT (Pages 11 - 14)

To consider a report by the Team Leader – Communications and Campaign Management (copy enclosed) detailing the approach to carry out a self-assessment of staff's Welsh language skills.

6 WELSH LANGUAGE STANDARDS (Pages 15 - 52)

To consider a report by the Team Leader – Communications and Campaign Management (copy enclosed) updating members on progress made with the Welsh Language Standards.

7 YSGOL GLAN CLWYD WELSH LANGUAGE CENTRE

To receive a presentation of the role of the new Welsh Language Centre at Ysgol Glan Clwyd.

8 FEEDBACK FROM THE WELSH LANGUAGE COMMISSIONER'S OFFICE

To receive a presentation on the feedback received from the Welsh Language Commissioner.

9 WORK OF PARTNER IAITH (Pages 53 - 56)

To consider a report by the Team Leader – Communications and Campaign Management (copy enclosed) relating to the work of Partner laith, the cross-county forum looking at how the Welsh language can be developed strategically across the county.

10 FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 57 - 58)

To consider the Committee's forward work programme (copy enclosed).

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Ellie Chard Ann Davies Tony Flynn Huw Hilditch-Roberts Arwel Roberts Anton Sampson Tony Thomas Graham Timms Joe Welch Emrys Wynne

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils